Thai Tuna Noodles

I’m pretty proud of the photos I took of this dish. So without any further introduction, let’s just dive right in…

Thai Tuna Noodles, (healthy)Vittles&Bits

This recipe is just a fancier version of one of my favorite stand-by recipes, Peanut Butter Noodles.  Yes, that sounds weird, but I promise you, they are delicious.  I don’t actually have that recipe up on the blog – yet.  Give me some time and I’ll get it up here, scouts honor.  If you’re looking for a good appetizer to feature before this main dish, I would recommend Smoky Sesame Crushed Pea Dip or Deviled Eggs with Pickled Onions would also be good.   Anyway, I had these tuna steaks in the freezer that I wanted to use up, so I decided to double the PB sauce and marinate/baste the tuna steaks in it before tossing it on the PB noodles.  Here’s how I did it.

For the marinade/sauce, I made two separate batches.  So you will need double the amount of the ingredients listed (or just go by the amount in the parentheses following each ingredient).  I just found it easier to make two separate batches of the sauce–one to use as a marinade for the tuna and one for the noodles.

Ingredients: 

Marinade/Sauce:
1/2 cup low fat, low sodium chicken broth (1 cup total)
1 tsp ground ginger–I used the “wet” ground ginger not the dried ground ginger, but either should work (2 tsp total)
3 Tbsp low sodium soy sauce (6 Tbsp total)
3 Tbsp peanut butter–I prefer natural but whatever you have is fine (6 Tbsp total)
1 and 1/2 Tbsp honey (3 Tbsp total)
1 – 2 tsp hot sauce, depending on how spicy you like things (2 – 4 tsp total)
3 cloves of garlic, minced (6 cloves total)
3 (4 oz) tuna steaks (thawed if they were frozen)
8 oz Asian noodles–I usually like to use Udon, but the store was out so I used Somen this time
1 batch of green onions (this is usually like 6 green onions), diced
1/2 cup of peanuts, chopped (I run mine through my mini food processor–works great)

Method: 

1.  In two separate bowls (one of which should be a flat, shallow bowl), mix together your two, separate batches of the marinade/sauce by adding all the sauce ingredients together and whisking until well blended.  In the shallow bowl of marinade, place the tuna steaks and allow them to marinate for about 30 minutes, turning them over once about 15 minutes in to make sure they are evenly coated.

Thai Tuna Noodles, (healthy)Vittles&Bits

Tuna steaks marinating in delicious PB sauce.

2.  Bring a large pot of water to a boil.  Add the noodles and cook according to the package instructions.  Once cooked, drain and set noodles aside.
3.  After the tuna steaks have marinated for about a half an hour, spray a frying pan with non-stick spray and place tuna steaks in it and turn stove on to medium high heat.  Using a basting brush, baste the tuna steaks with the leftover marinade.  Turn tuna steaks over about every minute until cooked evenly through.  I kept basting until I eventually just poured the marinade in there and let the tuna steaks sort of cook in the marinade.  Once tuna steaks are finished cooking, remove from heat, and using a wooden spoon or turner or some other handy kitchen utensil, break up the tuna steaks into bite sized pieces and stir them around in the sauce.  Should look something like this…

Thai Tuna Noodles, (healthy)Vittles&Bits

Tuna all broken into bite sized pieces, just waiting to be sat atop noodles and devoured.

4.  In a large pot (I used the same one that I had boiled the noodles in–now empty), add the second batch of sauce and turn on stove to medium heat.  Use a whisk to stir the sauce until peanut butter is all incorporated.  Then, add the pasta to the pot and stir to coat.
5. To serve, dish out some pasta and spoon some of the marinated tuna on top.  Then, top generously with the diced green onions and chopped peanuts.  Enjoy!

Thai Tuna Noodles, (healthy)Vittles&Bits

It may seem like a lot of work, but honestly it’s pretty easy and fairly quick to come together.  I can tell you that you will not be sorry you tried this dish (unless of course you have a peanut allergy in which case you would be very sorry–please eat responsibly 😉 )

I would love to hear your thoughts on this dish (and on my photography–always looking for tips/tricks to improve), so please leave me comments–nothing makes me happier than comments!  (Unless it’s shares, shares also make me very happy–there are buttons for sharing at the bottom of every post so feel free to share the food love!)

Thanks for reading everyone!  How about one more close up?

Thai Tuna Noodles, (healthy)Vittles&Bits

Have a great rest of the week!!!

2 thoughts on “Thai Tuna Noodles

  1. The pictures looks awesome! You’re getting good.

    This meal was amazing. If you like Thai food, you have to give this recipe a shot. The Thai flavors compliment the tuna amazingly well. I’m obsessed.

Leave a Reply

