Enrichment Rotation with Deeter Gallaher Group

It’s finally here – the last month of my internship.  I cannot believe that this year is almost over.  I can confidently say that it has been at the same time, the most stressful and the most wonderful year of my life.  I have done things I never imagined myself doing – such as touring a facility that raises chickens for their eggs, or working with one other intern to plan, prepare, and serve over 100 meals to our co-workers and managers, or helping a nurse to place a naso-gastric tube at the Med Center.  Looking back, I can’t believe how much I’ve done and how much I’ve learned.  Last Friday marked the end of my clinical rotation, but not quite the end of the program.  This last month I am spending with the Deeter Gallaher Group – a marketing company in Mechanicsburg, PA, owned and led by the incomparable Anne Deeter Gallaher.

Anne-2012-FINAL

Anne Deeter Gallaher

I have been lucky enough to know Anne for quite some time, as I went to school with her son, Aaron, and our families lived in the same neighborhood for years.  Anne and her company have been all over the news in the past few years as she skyrockets to the top of the marketing/PR/social media stratosphere.   I know what you’re probably thinking – if you want to be a dietitian, why are you working at a marketing company?  Well, after working in the community, in public schools, in grocery stores, in a hospital, and in a surgical weight loss clinic, let me tell you  – healthy eating is a tough sell!  Sure, it may seem like people want to be healthy – and really most people do want to be healthy, but it’s actually doing it that’s the hard part.  Getting people to actually make healthy changes takes a lot of negotiating, understanding, compromising, and creative thinking.  During the last ten months though, I have found that this is where my heart truly lies – with helping people to break out of their old routines and start adopting healthy changes.  This love of counseling and working with people made me more confident than ever in my desire to someday have my own private practice.  In order to do that successfully, I need a lot of business and marketing skills that I didn’t get in the first ten months of the internship – enter Deeter Gallaher Group.  I knew that to really be successful, I needed to learn from the best.  So about six months ago I approached Anne and asked if she would take me on as an intern for the last four weeks of my internship.  Lucky for me, she agreed, and here I am on day 2 with Deeter Gallaher Group, already learning new things with each passing hour.

Also, Anne was kind enough to give me a copy of her new book – Women in High Gear, so the learning continues even after I leave the office 🙂

3D Cover for Facebook

This book is a must read for anyone aspiring to move forward in their career – especially for young women who are ready to kick things into “high gear.”  Anne and Amy share their inspiring stories about how they both overcame obstacles and managed to balance a successful home life with a successful work life.  This book is perfect for new grads eager to enter the workforce, or for stay-at-home moms who are ready to jump back in.  If you want to read more about this book, follow along on twitter with #WiHG and follow Anne @AnneDGallaher and Amy @HowellMarketing.

This brings me to my next point – Twitter!  I’ll admit that as much as I love social media/networking, I have been dragging my feet when it comes to Twitter.  I think I just didn’t fully understand its potential.  Anne is already changing all of that!  She has been showing me how to navigate the platform and use hashtags to my advantage.  I’m going to be tweeting every day now – bear with me as I get the hang of it.  I’d be delighted to tweet with any of you out there – find me @DanielleMasland.

Along with figuring out Twitter, I am also hoping to learn more about other social media platforms such as LinkedIn and Instagram.  I’m also really interested in learning more about branding and creating a unified online presence.  Of course, I also plan on learning as much as I can about starting and growing my own business.  Good thing I’m about to see the master at work.
Hopefully Anne puts up with me as I pick her brain for the next month!

2 thoughts on “Enrichment Rotation with Deeter Gallaher Group

Leave a Reply

