Savory Breakfast Bread Pudding

Last weekend I felt like making something special for Easter breakfast.  Even on the weekends it’s rare that I have time to cook breakfast, so I decided to make the most of this opportunity and try something really different.  Hence, the Savory Breakfast Bread Pudding was created.

Looks delicious, no?

Looks delicious, no?

Before now I had only ever made bread pudding as a dessert (which by the way, is amazing. I’ll have to post the recipe for that sometime soon).  I’m very pleased that I ventured into the realm of savory bread puddings.  This breakfast (or honestly eat it for any meal) dish does not disappoint.  I adapted this recipe to make it healthier than the original found here: The Pioneer Woman Cooks.  Ironically, the person who submitted the recipe was also named Dani 🙂

My version:

1 loaf sourdough bread, sliced and toasted, then cut into cubes
8 eggs, whisked together
1.5 cups skim milk
1 cup plain, non-fat Greek yogurt
salt and pepper to taste
1 Tbsp dijon mustard
1 cup reduced fat, shredded mozzarella cheese
1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
6 tomatoes (I used roma tomatoes)
1 tsp Italian spice mix
1/2 a (10 oz) bag of spinach

Method:

1. In a large mixing bowl, combine eggs, milk, yogurt, salt and pepper, mustard.  Add in the toasted bread cubes, shredded cheese.
2. Dice the tomatoes and add in.  Toss in the Italian spice mix.
3. Shred up the spinach and add to the bowl.  Give everything a good stir.

IMG_0997

Next, dump this mixture into a big casserole dish and throw it in a 350 degree oven for about 40 minutes.

Or….

You can do what I did, and make it the night before and put it in the big casserole dish and then put it in the fridge. The next morning, take the dish out and allow it come to room temperature before baking for about 45 minutes. Super easy.

The result?

Doesn't this look delicious?

Doesn’t this look delicious?

It was super delicious. It was moist and flavorful and full of texture.  I enjoyed it immensely.  I also had a great Easter, spending some quality time with my family and friends.

Me and my wonderful Mom :-)

Me and my wonderful Mom 🙂

My best gal Jenny Penny :-)

My best gal Jenny Penny 🙂

I hope you all had wonderful Easters (or whatever holiday you celebrate around this time of year – or heck, I just hope you all had a wonderful weekend).   Thanks for reading!

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Savory Breakfast Bread Pudding

  1. Hi there would you mind letting me know which hosting company
    you are working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 2 different internet browsers and I must say this website loads a lot faster then others. Can you suggest a good web hosting company at a reasonable price? Thanks, I appreciate it! Please also excuse if my english is not good enough.

Leave a Reply

