Deviled Eggs with Homemade Pickled Onions

Easter is one of my favorite holidays.  Mainly because I LOVE eggs. Seriously. Every year for Easter I make my mom boil about 6 dozen eggs.  So when I was put in charge of making an appetizer for Easter dinner, I chose to make deviled eggs.  But not just any deviled eggs. I decided to top them off with some homemade pickled onions like the ones I saw at the Chocolate Covered February Cooking Demo in Hershey.  The result? See for yourself….

Pretty.

Pretty.

First thing to do, is to make the pickled onions. These were very easy, so don’t get discouraged if you’ve never pickled anything before – neither had I.

Pickled Onions:

1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 rice vinegar
1/4 cup water
2 Tbsp salt
2 Tbsp pickling spice mix (found this in the spice aisle at the local GIANT)
1 Tbsp ground mustard
1 red onion, very thinly sliced

Method:

1. In a small saucepan, mix the sugar, vinegar, and water and bring to a simmer.  Whisk to dissolve sugar.
2. Add salt, pickling spice mix, and dried mustard.   Simmer and whisk till spices and sugar dissolve. Remove from heat and set aside.
3. In a small bowl, add red onions and cover with pickling liquid (if your pickling spices were like mine and was made of larger spice pieces such as whole cloves and such, then I suggest straining this as you pour it over the onions to get all the bits out).  Set off to the side in the fridge and allow to sit for at least two hours.  Strain the liquid before using onions.

My onions just before I put them in the fridge to soak up all that good pickling sauce.

My onions just before I put them in the fridge to soak up all that good pickling sauce.

Now, this pickled onion topping could be added to any deviled egg recipe.  I don’t have a standard favorite that I turn to for deviled eggs. I usually just kind of make it up as I go. Here’s what I did this time:

Ingredients:

2 dozen eggs, hard boiled and halved longways
4 heaping Tbsp low fat mayo (low fat is different than light – it only has 1 gram of fat per Tbsp)
4 heaping Tbsp fat free sour cream
1 heaping Tbsp of mustard (spicy or standard yellow, whatever your preference)
2 cloves minced garlic
3 drops of hot sauce (i’m a wimp, so if you like hot sauce then by all means, be more liberal)
salt and pepper

Method:

1. Plop the yolks into a medium sized mixing bowl and lay the whites neatly on a cookie sheet that has rims.
2. Mash the yolks with a fork till they are all crumbly.
3. Add in the mayo, sour cream, mustard, garlic, hot sauce, and salt and pepper and continue to mix with fork until it’s a smooth, creamy consistency.
4.  Put all this mixture into a ziploc plastic baggie and cut off the end of the bag to use as a piping tool.  Carefully pipe the yolk mixture into the whites.  At this point should look like this…

You could eat them like this if you wanted to. But where would the fun in that be?

You could eat them like this if you wanted to. But where would the fun in that be?

5. Now you just take the pickled onions, strain off the pickling liquid, and plop some onions onto the eggs.

All ready for Easter!

All ready for Easter!

These eggs are definitely a change from your standard deviled eggs. The pickled onions bring a bold sweetness to them.  Perfect for Easter 🙂

I also prepared a savory, Easter morning bread pudding for tomorrow.  That will be the next post!

Wishing you all a most excellent Easter weekend!

 

4 thoughts on “Deviled Eggs with Homemade Pickled Onions

  1. Pingback: Thai Tuna Noodles | (healthy) Vittles and Bits

  2. Pingback: 5 Tips for Surviving Get-Togethers Without Blowing Your Diet | (healthy) Vittles and Bits

    • Thanks! The pickled onions were really good, but next time I will try to make the yolk filling a little spicier. It was a little too sweet for my tastes. I probably should’ve added more mustard or something.

Leave a Reply

