A Failed Experiment…and the best leave in conditioner I’ve ever found….

Hi everyone! Sorry it’s been a bit since my last post. This past weekend was CRAZY BUSY.  I literally worked the entire weekend, which was kind of awful. But hey, at least it was really nice weather, right? I did manage to get one episode in the kitchen in during last weekend, but unfortunately, it was pretty fruitless.  Early last week, I started thinking about how much I love chocolate covered pretzels, which morphed into me thinking about how much I also like yogurt covered pretzels, which transitioned into, “why can’t I make my own yogurt covered pretzels and make them healthy by using Greek yogurt and protein powder?”   So, with this idea firmly lodged in my head, I spent Saturday morning experimenting in the kitchen.  I looked up recipes for making your own yogurt covered pretzels, and to my surprise, didn’t find much of anything.  What I did find included 1 cup of yogurt and 5 CUPS of powdered sugar.  Are you kidding me????? FIVE CUPS????? Well, that just wouldn’t do at all.  So, I recklessly pulled out my lovely yellow KitchenAid Mixer and just went for it blindly.  Here’s how the experiment went…

Ingredients:

2 cups Greek yogurt, plain, non-fat
1.5 cups vanilla protein powder
1 cup powdered sugar
1 bag of Utz extra thin pretzels

Method Behind the Madness:

1. Preheat oven to 250 degrees and line cookie trays with parchment paper.
2.  Mix yogurt, protein powder, and powdered sugar in the mixer until it’s got a consistency that sticks to the beaters when you lift them out.
3. Dip pretzels into yogurt mixture and lay on parchment paper covered trays.
4. Turn off the oven.  Yes. You heard me, turn it off.  Then, put the trays into the oven and leave the door cracked. This is to dry out the yogurt covering. You’re supposed to let them dry for 3-4 hours.

The result?…….

IMG_0946

 

They don’t look too bad, huh?  Well, unfortunately they weren’t the best tasting.  Actually, it wasn’t even a bad taste – more of a bad texture. The consistency was all wrong. Instead of the satisfying crunch you expect from a yogurt covered pretzel, they didn’t make any sort of satisfying sounds, and instead just stuck to your teeth. A bit of a disappointment to say the least. However, life goes on. Perhaps someday (after I get better at baking and also better at just flying by the seat of my pants when it comes to recipe development) I will revisit this idea and try again.

While I was looking for recipes online, I discovered that the reason there aren’t very many recipes for making these at home, is that the ones you buy in the store really aren’t “yogurt covered.”  Apparently they’re more like “royal icing covered with a bit of dried yogurt powder thrown in to make the consumer think they’re being healthy”.  Bummer.  Although not all together unsurprising.

In other news…. I am pleased to share with anyone out there who has long hair that loves to tangle itself, that I have found the world’s best leave in conditioner/detangler.  It arrived in last month’s Birchbox, and it is fabulous.  Behold…

beautyprotector_protect_detangle_900x900exclusiveThis is Beauty Protector Protect and Detangle.  It’s amazing.  I have tried my fair share of leave in conditioners (a result of having long hair since the age of 3), and this is by far the best i’ve used.  It leaves my hair soft and tangle free. It tames frizz and gives it a healthy shine.  I am in no way benefiting from saying this stuff (ie the company didn’t compensate me in any way), I just genuinely really love this product, and figured why not share? There’s got to be some other girls (or guys) with long locks that are just begging for a good leave in conditioner.

And the last thing that I have for you this lovely wednesday, is of course some adorable puppy pictures 🙂

Luna and Toby REALLY enjoyed all the sun we got last weekend…

There's nothing like a good stick on a sunny day.

There’s nothing like a good stick on a sunny day.

Luna, ever the lady, finds a more delicate stick to suit her dainty little self.

Luna, ever the lady, finds a more delicate stick to suit her dainty little self.

Isn't he just handsome as can be?

Isn’t he just handsome as can be?

Sleepy baby just soaking up the sun :)

Sleepy baby just soaking up the sun 🙂

And now, get ready for the funniest Luna face you’ve ever seen…..

 

I couldn't get her to make this face again if I tried.  This is truly an expression that I am sure will never be captured again.

I couldn’t get her to make this face again if I tried. This is truly an expression that I am sure will never be captured again.

 

Thanks for visiting the site!  There will be a new recipe post up this weekend – I promise!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Failed Experiment…and the best leave in conditioner I’ve ever found….

Leave a Reply

