Cottage Cheese Pizza

I know, I know – this sounds like a weird creation.  But, I’ve recently been inspired by the fun texture of cottage cheese, and guess what – low fat cottage cheese is awesome for you!  It’s packed full of protein.  Why have I not been eating this all my life?  Anyway, I found some pizza dough in the freezer, and decided to get creative.  I think it turned out wonderfully, if I do say so myself.

You can tell this is healthy just by looking at it - COVERED in veggies :-)

You can tell this is healthy just by looking at it – COVERED in veggies 🙂

I really don’t have an exact recipe for this, because honestly I was just trying to use up what was in the fridge. But here are the ingredients I used:

Ingredients:

garlic and herb pizza dough from Trader Joe’s (you could use any crust – or be super awesome and make your own from scratch)
low fat or fat free cottage cheese (I probably used about a cup and a half)
grape tomatoes, sliced in half
sun dried tomatoes, diced
mushrooms, diced
reduced fat mozzarella cheese (I probably used about a cup)
reduced fat or fat free Feta cheese
fresh basil (about twenty leaves) julienned (this is easy if you lay all the leaves flat on top of one another and roll them up then slice thinly)

Directions:

1. Spread out the dough on a pizza stone or baking sheet that has been sprayed with non-stick spray. Then, I pre-bake the crust a bit in the oven so that it doesn’t end up soggy in the middle.  I followed the directions on my package of dough, which said 425 degrees, and I probably baked it for 6-8 minutes.
2. Spread the cottage cheese on the pre-baked dough in a thin layer.
3. Top with grape tomatoes, sun dried tomatoes, and mushrooms.
4. Sprinkle on mozzarella and feta cheeses. Then top with the basil.  At this point, the pizza looked like this…

 

 

IMG_0572 I added some cracked black pepper, you know, for good measure.
5. Bake in the oven (425 still) until the cheese has all melted. It took me about 10 minutes I think.

Enjoy!

Enjoy!

I know this wasn’t really much of a recipe, but basically I just wanted to give you the idea that you can make a healthy pizza using some low fat cottage cheese with other low fat cheeses and veggies for toppings.  All that low fat cheese is packed with protein, making this a very filling dish that you can enjoy guilt free!

Question: What’s the best pizza you’ve ever had?
My favorite pizza is White Garlic Veggie pizza.

Oh, and PS….Luna says hi!

IMG_0582

 

5 thoughts on “Cottage Cheese Pizza

  1. Pingback: Make Your Own Sushi – It’s Easy as 1, 2, 3… | (healthy) Vittles and Bits

  2. Huh – interesting! So the cottage cheese adds to the cheesy flavor with fewer calories and awesome amounts of protein? I’m making cornbread this weekend that calls for cottage cheese – maybe I’ll have to try this out with what I don’t use.

    • Yeah it didn’t add a ton of flavor (cause I don’t think it has enough to really make it through all the flavor from the feta and sundried tomatoes) but it adds great nutrition and a nice texture I thought! Definitely try it out!

Leave a Reply

