Chocolate Covered February – Chef Demo

Hello!  I can’t believe it’s Sunday already.  Is it just me, or does everyone else also feel like weekends go at warp speed?  Yesterday I had the opportunity to go to a Chef Demo at the Hershey Hotel with other PA bloggers.  It was pretty awesome. We watched the chef make a few different dishes (all of which included cocoa of course).

Chef Mario hard at work.

Chef Mario hard at work.

The first thing he made was Pecans coated in cocoa powder.  Then he mixed up a dried cherry and chive vinaigrette.  These were both used in a salad he made with sliced apples on a bed of frisee lettuce and arugula.  I’m normally not a fan of putting fruit in a salad, but this was excellent.  I apples were kind of tart and the vinaigrette was sweet without being too sweet. It all worked together very nicely.  I would actually consider making this salad on my own:

pretty and delicious

pretty and delicious

Next he made a Cocoa Spiced Braised Lamb.  I really don’t eat lamb, but I imagine this would be good with beef as well.  He served the lamb on a fried wonton wrapper, topped with shredded cabbage and pickled onions.  It was amazing.  I will definitely be trying some variation of this soon (probably a vegetarian take on it since it seems like it would make a great appetizer).

Looks cool, right?

Looks cool, right?

Also, he made his own pickled red onions, which were incredibly delicious. I am definitely making these bad boys sometime in the near future. It seemed really easy too – just mix up a quick pickling sauce and soak the onions in it over night.  I’ll post the recipe for these onions soon, promise.

IMG_0628

In all it was a great experience, and I thank the Hershey Hotel for inviting us.

I got to taste great food, hang out with an old friend…

Friends since we were three!

Friends since we were three!

That’s Lindsay, one of my oldest friends (as in I’ve known her forever, not that she’s ancient).  She writes a weight loss blog – check it out!

And I also got to meet a lot of new friends who also blog in Pennsylvania….

Four of the PA Bloggers!

Four of the PA Bloggers!

I can’t wait for the next event!

The group with Chef Mario!

The group with Chef Mario!

12 thoughts on “Chocolate Covered February – Chef Demo

  1. Pingback: Deviled Eggs with Homemade Pickled Onions | (healthy) Vittles and Bits

  2. yay for blogger friends! It was so nice meeting you! (:
    I was surprised how much I liked the vinaigrette! Usually I don’t like clear dressings but that was GOOD! I already made the chocolate pecans, of COURSE! haha! Can’t wait to see you next month!

Leave a Reply

