Easy, Cheesy, Veggie Scramble

Hello!  Happy New Year to everyone!  I hope you all had marvelous holiday celebrations.  I was lucky to spend New Year’s Eve in New York City with my wonderful boyfriend. The downside to that, is that we ate a ton of take out food since his kitchen is about the size of a postage stamp, and was also devoid of groceries.  Take out food is fun once and a while, but after four days, I’m feeling pretty disgusting.  Thus I decided to be super typical, and resolve to eat better in the New Year.  I know, I know, what a boring resolution. But let’s face it – my New Year’s resolution is always something about food anyways.  This year I plan on eating cleaner.  “Clean eating” is a term that gets thrown around a lot and means different things to different people.  No, I’m not going on some crazy liquid diet or trying some “magic” detox supplements. I’m just going to try to eat real, unprocessed food as much as I can.  I’ve decided to also work on incorporating aspects of Volumetrics into my diet – simply meaning that I want to eat more food but less calories.  In order to do this I’ll work on adding large amounts of non-starchy vegetables into my dishes, so that I can fill up on the good stuff.  If you’re interested in this sort of a “diet” I recommend checking out this book: The Volumetrics Eating Plan.  Anyways, let’s get to the good stuff…

For those of you who like the idea of cooking, but don’t necessarily like following a recipe or getting too adventurous, this post is for you (talking to you Lindsay 😉  ) This morning, I wanted to make a big breakfast – I love eating big breakfasts.  So I decided to do a post about it, showing you that big breakfast with big flavor and big nutrition doesn’t have to also mean big calories.  Thus, the Easy, Cheesy, Veggie Scramble came to being. Behold…

Isn't it beautiful??

Isn’t it beautiful??

Here’s how it went:

Ingredients:

3 egg whites + 1 whole egg
10 cherry tomatoes, halved
2 Tbsp shredded cheese (I used a Cheddar Jack blend cause that’s what I had)
2 Tbsp reduced fat Feta cheese

*but really, use whatever veggies/cheese you want and/or have on hand.

Directions:

1. Scramble the eggs and cook over medium heat.  When eggs are almost done, add tomatoes to the pan. Cook till eggs are pretty much done.
2. Add cheeses on top. Turn off heat and let cheese melt.  Sprinkle some kosher salt and fresh black pepper on top.  Eat and be happy.

Big flavor, itty bitty calories.

Big flavor, itty bitty calories.

So there you have it – an easy way to get a great, nutritious breakfast without ingesting a boat load of calories.  This delicious breakfast has about 205 calories, 3 grams of carbs, 10 grams of fat, and 23 grams of protein.  So enjoy while feeling awesome 🙂

PS. i got a new camera, so I’ll probably be posting lots of pictures …

So you have an idea of how much food this made. Ps this plate is REALY big.

So you have an idea of how much food this made. Ps this plate is REALY big.

Luna decided that it smelled too delicious to just ignore, so she came by and asked for a bite.

pretty girl wants eggs....

pretty girl wants eggs….

I didn’t share cause it was just too good…..

Okay okay, that’s a lie.  I gave her a tiny taste.  I’m not heartless….

So precious.  Gives me both her paws to hold :-)

So precious. Gives me both her paws to hold 🙂

4 thoughts on “Easy, Cheesy, Veggie Scramble

  1. Haha love the shout out! That looks delicious, I want to try it! & of course I can’t post a comment on a post with Luna pictures without saying how adorable she is!

Leave a Reply

