Spinach & Artichoke Dip

Oh my goodness it has been ages since my last post.  Apologies.  I was going through a very intense rotation at my internship, which required a lot of my time and energy.  Thankfully I am now on break for two weeks, so hopefully I will have more time to post about all the winter/Christmas deliciousness that is going on. I checked my stats today for the first time in three weeks (gasp!) and I couldn’t believe that I broke my own personal record for views in one day – 67!  So just a quick “Thank You” to everyone who viewed my blog on December 6th, and helped to break my own personal record – I get very competitive with myself.  Now I’ll be aiming to break 67 views in one day, which leads me to……Spinach and Artichoke Dip!

Dip right before it went into the oven.

Dip right before it went into the oven.

Sorry I don’t have a better picture for you – I was in a hurry when I made this.  This is one of those well-known dishes that tends to (in my opinion) get overused a bit, and is usually made with heavy, creamy ingredients like Alfredo sauce or heavy cream – not here!  This is my take on this familiar appetizer, except that I tried my best to make it light and (somewhat) healthy.  Here’s how it went down:

Ingredients:

1/2 a large red onion
5 cloves of garlic
12 oz jar of artichoke hearts (drained)
2/3 cup of fat free (or light) sour cream
2 packages frozen spinach
4 Tbsp light cream cheese
4 oz Feta cheese (reduced fat if you have it)
Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Dice up the red onion and mince the garlic. Cook in a sauce pan on medium high heat till soft.  Chop up the artichoke hearts and throw them in there too.
2. Thaw the frozen spinach in the microwave (one package at a time) by unwrapping it and placing it (still in its little cardboard container) on a paper towel and microwaving for five minutes. Then, strain all the water out of the spinach and add that to the pan too.
3. Stir in the sour cream, light cream cheese, and feta.  Stir until all cream cheese is melted and ingredients are fully incorporated. Then taste and add salt and pepper to your liking.
4. Transfer mixture to a casserole dish and bake at 375 degrees for about 15-20 minutes until heated throughout.  Serve with tortilla or pita chips.

This was suuuuuuuuper easy and (I thought) very tasty.  It still has that rich, creamy texture that you’re most likely expecting from a spinach and artichoke dip, but I love it cause it really allows you to taste the deliciousness of the spinach, artichoke, onion, and garlic – all that good for you stuff!

5 thoughts on “Spinach & Artichoke Dip

  1. Pingback: Avocado Hummus and Cucumber Tea Sandwiches | (healthy) Vittles and Bits

  2. Congrats on your milestone!! And this dip looks amazing – I’d be curious to see how it’d turn out with greek yogurt subbed for the sour cream (since I try to incorporate greek yogurt into basically everything I eat…)

Leave a Reply

