Jicama Fries

Since I had some leftover jicama from last week’s Pumpkin Hummus with Jicama Dipping Sticks, I decided to experiment with the remaining sticks and try them like baked fries.  I had read that you can treat a jicama pretty much any way you would treat a potato.  The fries came out nice and crisp!

A great, high-fiber snack!

Ingredients:

1 jicama
Olive oil (I used a mister which is great cause it keeps roasted veggies from being too heavy on the oil)
Kosher salt (probably about 1/2 tsp)
Italian seasoning (I used Mrs. Dash, salt free)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
2. Peel jicama and slice into thin, fry-shaped sticks. Arrange sticks on a baking sheet in a single layer.  Spray with olive oil mister (or drizzle with olive oil and toss to coat).  Sprinkle on kosher salt and seasoning.
3.  Bake in oven for about 30 minutes till fries crisp up and start to brown.

Fries ready and waiting to go into the oven…

Finished Product!!!

These fries would make a great dish for a gathering such as watching a football game or a movie.  They’re great for those times when you feel like you need a snack (but maybe you’re not actually very hungry 😉 ).

Question of the Day: Have you ever tried jicama?  Do you like it?
A:  I have (duh), but last week was the first time.  Although I think I may have had it in a drink form when I was in Mexico (not recommended), but last week was definitely the first time I know for sure I ate it.  While not my favorite vegetable to eat raw, it does have an interesting flavor and texture.  I like how crunchy it is.   To me, it kind of tasted like a cross between a potato and an apple.  I definitely prefer it roasted to eating it raw.

One thought on “Jicama Fries

Leave a Reply

