Honey Raisin Pumpkin Banana Bread – Amazing.

I saw this on an old post from Oh She Glows, and knew from all those fantastic ingredients right there in the name that this bread was going to be absolutely delicious.  Guess what?  I was right.  (As my wonderful and patient boyfriend can tell you, I always am 😛  )

Looks amazing, no?

I wish I could have bottled the smell from baking this bread and somehow set it up so that when you visited this page the wonderful aroma of warm, freshly baked bread oozed right out of your computer.  However, since I’m not magical you’ll just have to trust me and make it for yourself so that you can see how awesome it is.  The original recipe by the wonderful and talented Angela Liddon can be found by clicking here.  I will also post it here:

Ingredients:

2 very ripe bananas
2 eggs
1/4 cup oil
1 1/3 cups pumpkin puree (I used canned)
1/2 cup honey (I used 1/4 honey and 1/4 agave nectar because I ran out of honey)
1/2 cup white sugar (I’ll bet that if you are diabetic you could use an artificial sweetener and it would still taste great)
1.5 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup rolled oats
1 tsp each baking soda and baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
2 tsp cinnamon
3/4 cup raisins

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 and grease a 9×5 loaf pan – however, I used a larger than average loaf pan and it was still suuuuper full.  So if you’re using a regular size loaf pan it may be better to bake two, slightly smaller loaves.
2. Mash the bananas and stir in the eggs, oil, pumpkin, honey and sugar.
3. In a seperate bowl mix together flour, oats, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and spices.
4. Add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and stir to combine. Don’t over mix. Add the raisins, stir briefly, and then pour the batter into your pan (or pans) and bake for about an hour.  (I baked it for 55 minutes and it was still pretty mushy in the middle, although still delicious).

Then enjoy it when it comes out of the oven.  You could eat it plain….

Or with a little bit of butter spread on it……

Seriously, this was amazing.  Go make it.  You will not be sorry.

Question of the day: What is your favorite kind of homemade bread?   Leave a comment with your answer!
A:  If you had asked me a few days ago, I probably would have said the Cranberry Orange Bread that my mom makes every year for Thanksgiving.  Now, this Honey Raisin Pumpkin Banana Bread wins. Hands down.

3 thoughts on “Honey Raisin Pumpkin Banana Bread – Amazing.

Leave a Reply

