Cranberry Lemon Scones

Cranberry is, in my opinion, an often overlooked fruit.  The only time we really think about cranberries is during the holiday season, and even then only as a sauce for our turkey.  This recipe brings together two tart flavors (cranberry and lemon) and creates something sweet – a scone.  These actually didn’t turn out much like scones, kind of more like a big, cookie shaped muffin.  But hey, they still tasted good, and they’re visually appealing:

I love the vivid colors of the cranberries and the lemon slice 🙂

Ingredients:

1 cup all purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 tbsp baking powder
1/4 cup sugar (plus 1 Tbsp for dusting)
1/2 tsp salt
3 Tbsp butter
1 egg, beaten
1 cup chopped fresh cranberries (you could also use frozen berries that have been thawed)
the juice and zest from one lemon
3/4 cup vanilla almond milk (I used unsweetened, but these scones aren’t very sweet, so you could definitely use sweetened almond milk if you so desired)

Directions:

1. Combine the flours, baking powder, 1/4 cup sugar, and salt.  Then, using two forks, cut in the butter so that it ends up crumbly and in small pieces.
2. Mix in the egg, berries, lemon juice, and zest.  Then slowly stir the almond milk in until the mixture forms a thick dough.  You may need more or less milk, but I used 3/4 cup.

My “dough” after all ingredients were mixed in.

3. You can either roll this dough out and cut triangle shapes like real scones, or you can be lazy like me and just form them into circles using two spoons.  Brush the top of each scone with a little almond milk and a sprinkling of sugar.

Scones waiting to go into the oven…

4. Bake at 450 degrees for about 15 minutes, or until the tops are starting to get a golden brown color.

Fresh out of the oven!

As mentioned, these are not very sweet. In fact, they’re still a little on the tart side, but I liked them that way (I’m not a huge fan of super sweet things).  I thought they were really fantastic when paired with a little butter…

So, get out your aprons and give cranberries a try!  I realized when making these, that I don’t think I’ve ever consumed a plain, fresh cranberry (I usually eat them dried), so I popped one in my mouth – oooohhh they are tart!  But I liked it.  I think they would make a fantastic snack for those times when you’re not really hungry but you still want to eat something – you know what I’m talking about, right? Which leads me to the question of the day….

Q: What’s your favorite healthy snack food?  Leave me a comment with your answer!

A: Mine is most definitely popcorn.  I eat it almost every day – the 94% fat free kind of course, not the kind that covers your hand in butter when you reach in the bag.  My new favorite thing to do, is to pop a bag, throw it in a big bowl, and then spray it will a little non-fat butter spray and sprinkle on some nutritional yeast flakes (they taste like cheese but are actually REALLY healthy).

7 thoughts on “Cranberry Lemon Scones

  1. Pingback: Cranberry Relish | (healthy) Vittles and Bits

Leave a Reply

