Baked Oatmeal (On-the-Go!)

First, it’s been at least a week since my last post, so I have to apologize.  Last weekend through Tuesday I went to the Food and Nutrition Conference Expo in Philadelphia.  Four whole days of nutritionists, RDs, interns, and other food/nutrition professionals getting together to learn from one another (and to get a ton of free product samples!).  It was a lot of fun (and super exhausting), and that is why I haven’t had time to post for a while.  Now, onto the good stuff…

Baked Oatmeal in Mason Jars!!!

I saw this recipe on Oh She Glows and I just had to try it.  It features some of my favorite things (mason jars, oatmeal, and food that you can take anywhere).  Now that I’m working full time (just not getting paid….i guess that’s the nature of an internship), I find myself needing to pack lunches.  I saw this recipe and knew it was perfect for me.  I can make it ahead of time, throw it in the fridge, and just toss it into my lunchbox before I leave in the mornings.  It’s healthy, filling, and delicious – what more could a person ask for?  The original recipe can be found here: Portable Baked Oatmeal.

I didn’t adapt it much at all, but here’s what I did:

Ingredients:

1 cup rolled oats
2 tbsp chia seed
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
pinch of salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 cup almond milk
1.5 tsp vanilla extract
2 tbsp agave
8 slices of frozen peach, diced
1/3 cup walnuts, diced

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and grab some mason jars.  I used 3 little ones and 2 8oz ones cause that was what I could find at the moment, but originally it’s supposed to fill 6 little mason jars.

2. In a large bowl, mix together the oats, chia seed, spices, and baking powder.  Add the almond milk, vanilla, and agave and mix it up. Then fold in the fruit and nuts.

3. Divide the mixture between however many mason jars you are using, but make sure to leave a little empty space at the top.  Push the oatmeal down with your fingers.  It should look like this…

4. Bake for 22-25 minutes on a baking sheet, or until slightly firm and golden on top. Allow to cool completely for at least an hour. Screw the lid on and throw them in the fridge.  You can eat these cold or warmed up.  I ate mine cold because I didn’t have access to a microwave.

Here is the end result  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

