Caprese Salad

As you may have seen in my recent posts, I have recently tasted, the best cheese in the world.  This past weekend I got to go to Tastemakers and pick out some of this cheese.  We got two frozen mozzarella curds and the last pound of ricotta that they had in the store (lucky me!).  I had a great time stretching the mozzarella myself last night.  It was so soft and pillowy.  If it hadn’t been 180 degrees, perhaps I would’ve actually been tempted to try it out as a pillow. However, since I didn’t feel like burning my face off, or ruining such a delicious specimen of cheese, I resisted the temptation.

Clearly, after the cheese was stretched, there was only one thing I wanted to do with it – slice it onto some thick, juicy tomatoes and sprinkle it with basil.  So, that’s exactly what I did.  Caprese Salad is pretty basic, and you can’t really screw it up (as long as you’re using fresh mozzarella and good tomatoes).  But, if you’re the type of person that needs a recipe to boil pasta, here it is written out for you:

Ingredients:

1 pound of fresh mozzarella cheese
4 big, ripe tomatoes
about 20 basil leaves
good olive oil for drizzling
kosher salt
balsamic vinegar (optional)

Instructions:

1. Slice the fresh mozzarella into 1/4 inch thick rounds.  Then slice the tomatoes into 1/4 – 1/2 inch thick rounds. Arrange tomato slices on a big serving tray. Then lay a piece of cheese over each tomato round.
2. Julienne the basil leaves (this is easily done by laying the leaves flat, one on top of another, then rolling them up like a cigar, and then slicing it into thin slices). You can also just leave the leaves whole, intact if you prefer.  Sprinkle the basil on top the cheese/tomatoes.
3. Sprinkle some kosher salt over the salad. Then, finish by drizzling the olive oil over the salad.  (If using balsamic vinegar, drizzle some of that over the salad as well.)
4. Eat and rejoice.

Here’s a shot from above…..

Seriously, how amazingly delicious does this look?

It was soooooooooooooooo good.  I highly recommend you make this salad for yourself.  Not only does it look like Christmas, but it tastes like Christmas.

Leave a Reply

