Tomatillo Bruschetta

Sorry it’s been a few days since the last post; life has been busy.  I’m happy to report that Luna and I ran our first 5K this morning! Our time was 28:47 – not bad I think.  Anyways, when I was at the orchard on Tuesday, I bought a bag of tomatillos.  In case you’re unfamiliar with these, tomatillos are basically Mexican tomatoes. They’re green and they come surrounded by a layer of husk-type-stuff (technical term).

Here you can see one completely wrapped, one halfway unwrapped, and one all the way out of the husk-type-stuff. They’re strangely sticky when you peel them.   I’m honestly not sure how many of these I used (cause I completely forgot to count them or weigh them), but I’m going to guestimate (another technical term) it was a pound. Either way, you can really just use your common sense and put in however many you feel like.

When I began cooking, I intended to make a salsa, but since the tomatillos weren’t juicy inside, and i didn’t have any canned tomatoes in the house, I just faked it and made bruschetta.  Here’s the recipe (which, by the way, I made up all by myself.  Not that I’m super proud of that or anything….)

Ingredients:

1 pound tomatillos (or however many you want), peeled and diced
1 smallish onion, diced
4 big garlic cloves, minced
1/2 a large red bell pepper, diced
3 Tbsp lemon juice
15 basil leaves, julienned
salt and pepper
good olive oil, for drizzling

Instructions:

1. Combine first 6 ingredients in a bowl and mix together. Then, add in salt and pepper to taste.
2. Finish with a generous drizzle of  good quality olive oil.  Serve with chips or toasted bread.

Here’s the result:

 

Annnnddd, here’s a red-carpet-ready close up:

 

Pretty, huh?   It was also delicious.

 

2 thoughts on “Tomatillo Bruschetta

  1. Pingback: Avocado Hummus and Cucumber Tea Sandwiches | (healthy) Vittles and Bits

Leave a Reply

