Pumpkin Spice Chai Tea

Okay, so I had a lot of time to cook this weekend, which is awesome.  In continuing with the aforementioned pumpkin/fall theme, I decided to finally make the pumpkin spice chai tea that I’ve been wanting to try out for a few weeks now.  I will warn you now, I was disappointed.  It wasn’t really bad, but it definitely wasn’t my favorite.  Sadly I’ve never had pumpkin spice chai tea before so I can’t really say whether or not it was just a bad recipe or if I just don’t particularly care for the taste.  Either way, I decided to post the recipe/photos here anyway, just in case you wanted to try it for yourself and see if you like it.  If anyone does try it, please let me know what you think. I got the recipe from this website: Pumpkin Spice Chai Tea.

First, here’s a photo to peak your interest…..

 

Look at those cute puppy faces on the mug 🙂  I thought that the mug with the orange leaves was an appropriate choice for this fall beverage.

Here’s the recipe with the slight changes I made:

Ingredients: 

2 cups water
1/8 tsp ground ginger
1 cinnamon stick
2 teaspoons fennel seed
1 teaspoon cloves
2 black peppercorns
1/2 to 2/3 cup canned pumpkin puree
3 tablespoons honey
3 cups almond milk (the original recipe called for raw, whole milk, but there was no way I was A) about to go buy that, or B) drink it.  No offense to people who love raw milk, but I don’t really even like pasteurized milk much).

Instructions: 
1. In a medium-size saucepan, add water and bring to a boil.
2. Break cinnamon stick into pieces and then combine with , fennel seed, cloves and peppercorns in a small bowl.   It should look something like this:
3. Add the ginger and the spices to the boiling water.  Remove from heat, COVER and let steep for 30 minutes.
4. When tea is almost done steeping, add pumpkin puree, honey and milk to the blender.  Pulse or puree to blend.  At this point your mixture looks like this….
5. Strain tea into blender.  Carefully pulse to combine.
6. Pour back into the saucepan and heat over low heat to desired temperature.  Aaaannnnnnddd, now it looks like this:

7. Pour into an adorable, fall-themed puppy mug 🙂

Like I said, it wasn’t amazing, but it wasn’t bad. I think it was a little too sweet for me, so if you like sweet things, give this a try, and then let me know what you think!
Since this didn’t turn out as amazing as I’d hoped, I decided that it was a sign from the cooking gods, telling me to take a break with all the pumpkin stuff.  There will be plenty of time during the next three months to overdose on pumpkin.  Tomorrow’s post will be pumpkin-free, I promise.
Leave a Reply

