Is it Fall Yet? My Apple & Pumpkin Dessert says, Yes.

Do you know what my favorite thing about fall is?  If you guessed pumpkin flavored EVERYTHING, well then you would be right.  (Side note, I also enjoy the fall because it is boot and scarf season.  All the women out there know exactly what I’m talking about.  And perhaps some very stylish men do as well.  Anyways….)

So a while back I found this recipe online that combined apples and pumpkin puree in the microwave and claimed to produce a fantastical dessert.  Intrigued? I was.  Well, I recently remembered that said recipe had been in my online recipe box just waiting and waiting to be concocted, hence I am sharing it with you now.  I made some adaptations from the original (just to make things easier, cause you know, I’m all about simplifying the healthy eating process).  Okay here’s the recipe:

 

Ingredients:

2 tsp brown sugar

1 1/2  teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

1 Granny Smith apple – peeled, cored and chopped (you can leave the peel on if you’d like some extra fiber, but it does make the apple pieces tougher, just fyi)

1/4 cup canned pumpkin

2 tablespoons water

Instructions: 

1. Sprinkle 1/2 a tsp of sugar and 1/2 a teaspoon pumpkin pie spice in the bottom of a microwave-safe bowl. Layer 1/4 of the apple pieces into the bowl; repeat.

2. Spread the pumpkin over the apples. Sprinkle the remaining sugar and pumpkin pie spice on the pumpkin. Top with the remaining apples. Pour the water over the mixture.

3. Cook in microwave on high for 3 1/2 minutes, stirring every minute.

At this point, here’s what you get:

 

Pretty awesome looking, huh?  Here, have a closer look, just in case you weren’t sold yet…….

 

BAM!!! Now you’re drooling, right?  I must say, for an easy and super healthy quick dessert, it was quite tasty.   It was also super filling (lots of fiber in that bowl….).  I actually only ate half the first night i made it.  Then, the next morning, genius struck.  I thought to myself, I’ll take this to work and heat it up and eat it over cold, vanilla Greek yogurt.  It was a fantastic idea.  I recommend you try that if you have leftovers when you make it 🙂

3 thoughts on “Is it Fall Yet? My Apple & Pumpkin Dessert says, Yes.

  1. Pingback: Butternut Squash Mac & Cheese | (healthy) Vittles and Bits

Leave a Reply

