Luna Gets a Treat :-)

Okay, so if you’ve met me, you know I’m obsessed with my dog, Luna. She is the cutest dog I’ve ever seen – and I’ve seen some cute dogs (okay, okay, so I might be a little biased, but whatever – she’s adorable). In the unlikely instance that I haven’t shown you 4,762 pictures of her already, here is my proof:

I mean look at those ears people! It doesn’t get any cuter. Anyways….

I recently celebrated my birthday, which means tons of cooking. I love to cook giant meals for everyone on my birthday – yeah, i know i’m weird. So I made 7 different dishes for the humans…..and 1 for Luna! These treats are really easy and fun to make. Here’s the recipe I used: Peanut Butter and Banana Dog Biscuits. I made the following changes:
I used oat flour instead of whole wheat (because Luna has a sensitive tummy). And no, i didn’t go out and buy some expensive specialty flour for my dog, I just put some oats in the blender and turned it on for about 30 seconds. Super easy.
I used one banana instead of a half a cup of mashed – because honestly, who wants to dirty a measuring cup just measure a mashed banana? Not this girl. Also, what would you do with like, 2 Tbsp of leftover mashed banana? Ludicrous.
I rolled the dough out on a floured surface and then cut super cute shapes (this was obviously more for my enjoyment than Luna’s. She couldn’t have cared less what shape they were.)

Here are some delightful photos of the process:

Here is one before I got started. The minute I opened the jar of peanut butter she was wise to my game. I swear, this dog can smell peanut butter from anywhere in the house, and she comes running…

So then I made and rolled out the dough, and cut it into super fun shapes. I did stars (for when Luna is a good girl), bunnies (because Luna loves bunnies…..in a less than awesome way though….), and I did various dog shapes.

As you can see, I have an eager audience member:

And here they are after they came out of the oven…

The first taste…

A definite success! Uh oh, Toby heard the crunching and came to see what he was missing out on….

He approves too.

If you have dogs (and are a crazy dog lady like myself), I highly recommend you give this a try. It’s really fun, and the dogs love them!

This is the face of one happy puppy!
🙂

Leave a Reply

