Back Home and Cookin’

So the long road trip is now over and I’m back in the kitchen.  I recently got an exorbitant amount of produce from produce junction in Malvern:

So in my attempt to use it all before it goes bad, I created a Veggie Dish based off of one served to me by friends in Chicago.  I don’t really have a name for it. It’s kind of like veggie stew, but it’s not really a stew.  Here, it looks like this:

It was pretty delicious (at least I think so.)  And SUPER nutritious. For anyone on weight watchers, I think the only thing in here that has any points at all is the chickpeas, and they don’t have many cause they’re super good for you.   You can throw any veggies you want in here, but here’s a loose recipe based off what I did:

Ingredients:

1 eggplant
1 big (32 oz?) can of peeled whole tomatoes (If you have fresh tomatoes you can throw those in there too, but I found I needed the juice from this can too)
1 big (32 oz?) can of tomato sauce (just to be clear this is not marinara sauce)
1 onion
1 green pepper
a bunch of mushrooms
garlic
2 cans of chick peas (garbanzo beans)
salt and pepper
2 tsp garam masala
2 tsp curry
1 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp cumin

I dumped the tomato sauce and the juice from the other can of tomatoes into a big pot. Peeled and cut up the eggplant into bite sized pieces and threw it in the pot.  Then I diced up the tomoatoes from the can and threw them in there.  I added some water (maybe a cup?) to the pot to help cover the eggplant with liquid. Then I simmered the eggplant for about a half an hour in there with the lid on.  It needs to get good and mushy.  in a separate pan on the stove I heated up some olive oil, threw in a good bit of minced garlic, and then the diced onion, diced pepper, and sliced mushrooms, and sauteed them for a bit till they were cooked through.  Then once the eggplant has been simmering for the half hour I threw the spices and the pan of veggies into the pot and stirred it all up.  Then I strained and rinsed the chick peas to get all the sodium off them and then added them to the pot.  I let it all meld together for about 15 minutes at a pretty low temp till it was all heated through and mixed well.  Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

