Let’s Talk About Portion Control…

Okay, so the biggest (and I mean that literally) thing I’ve noticed about food in the South, is the ridiculous portion sizes.  When we hit Tennessee, I ordered a chicken quesadilla at the Sagebrush Steakhouse.  This is my quesadilla:


I ate one of those triangles and then had to call it quits.  It was enormous. 

In Memphis, I ordered a veggie pizza for one (ie. a small), and this is what I got:


Don’t get me wrong, it was delicious, but I ate half of it and was super stuffed. 

At this same restaurant, my sister ordered a a single serving of lasagna, and this is what they brought her:


This thing was ridiculously huge.  She ate maybe a quarter of it and couldn’t do any more.  The waitress said only two or three people have ever finished it in one sitting.  I think we made a total of like, four meals from the leftovers.  I mean it was tasty lasagna, but come people, do we really need this much food at one time?  I would much rather pay half as much for half as much lasagna. 

Anyways, I’m just saying that portions down here are out-of-control big.  It’s no wonder the southeast states have the highest obesity and type 2 diabetes rates in the country.  It just seems like an unnecessary waste of food. 

Leave a Reply

